Poomsae (품새 / 品勢 / Pattern) is a set of systematic series of movements, which incorporate the idea of attacking and defensive techniques against imaginary opponents. It can be considered as a form of choreography that captures the essence of Taekwondo. 

Poomsae practice helps in the development of rhythm, balance, coordination, endurance, patience, muscles, discipline and proper breath control. It is also a convenient and effective form of taekwondo training for all ages, gender and physical abilities.


In 1965 the Korea Taekwondo Association (KTA) appointed a committee of representatives from six of the Nine Kwans to develop the forms for taekwondo (Kukkiwon style). The committee officially introduced 8 sets of ‘Palgwe’ and 9 sets of Yudanja (Blackbelts) in 1967.

In 1970, two additional kwans joined the committee and a new 8 sets of poomsae ‘Taegeuk’ were developed. in the following year, Palgwe poomsae was deprecated for new Taeguek poomsae.

Today, Taeguek poomsae is being performed for all Kukkiwon/WT poomsae competitions or gradings along with 9 of the blackbelt poomsae.




1st Geup Taegeuk Il Jang
(태극 1장/太极一章)
, “天”, “건”, “Heaven, Light” – Natural stance
– Forward stance
– Low section block
– Middle section outer forearm Inward block

– High section outer forearm block
– Middle section punch
– Front kick
2nd Geup Taegeuk Ee Jang
(태극 2장/太极二章)
, “澤”, “태”, “Lake” – High section punch
3rd Geup Taegeuk Sam Jang
(태극 3장/太极三章)
, “火”, “이”, “Fire” Back stance
– Middle section knifehand outward block
– High section knifehand inward chop
4th Geup Taegeuk Sa Jang
(태극 4장/太极四章)
, “雷”, “진”, “Thunder” Middle section knifehand defensive block
   (Double knifehand Block)
– High section knifehand block &
   high section knifehand inward chop
– Palm downward block & Spearhand Strike
– Middle section outer forearm Block
– Back fist strike
– Side kick
5th Geup Taegeuk Oh Jang
(태극 5장/太极五章)
, “風”, “손”, “Wind” – Cross stance
– L-Shape Stance (right and left stance)
– Hammer fist
– Elbow inward strike
6th Geup Taegeuk Yook Jang
(태극 6장/太极六章)
, “水”, “감”, “Water” – High section knifehand Outward block
– High section outer forearm block
– Low section double forearm block
– Middle section palm block
– Turning Kick
7th Geup Taegeuk Chil Jang
(태극 7장/太极七章)
, “山”, “간”, “Mountain” – Cat stance
– Horse stance
– Lower section knifehand defensive block
– Middle section double forearm outward block
– Lower section outer forearm and
  Middle section inner forearm outward block
– Lower section double forearm X block
– Defensive back fist strike
– Defensive inward palm strike
– Knee strike
– Double upset punch
– Inward crescent kick
8th Geup Taegeuk Pal Jang
(태극 8장/太极八章)
, “地”, “곤”, “Earth” – Modify Forward Stance
– Middle section outer forearm defensive block
– Lower section outer forearm defensive block
– Lower section outer forearm block and
  high section inner forearm outward block
– upward punch
– Jumping front kick



1 DanKoryo
(고려 . 高丽)
Koryo (Korea) is the name of an old Korean Dynasty. The people from the Koryo-period defeated the Mongolian aggressors. Their spirit is reflected in the movements of the Poomse Koryo. Each movement of this Poomse represents the strength and energy needed to control the Mongols.
2 DanKeumgang
(금강 . 金刚)
The definition of Keumgang is “Too strong to be broken”, or “diamond”. The movements of the Poomse Keumgang are as beautiful as the Keumgang-san (a Korean mountain) and as strong as Keumgang-seok (diamond).
3 DanTaebaek
(태백 . 太白)
The definition of Taebaek is “lightness”. Every movement in this Poomse must not only be exact and fast, but with determination and hardness.
4 DanPyongwon
(평원 . 平原)
The definition of Pyongwon is “stretch, vast plain, big, majestic”.
5 DanSipjin
(십진 . 十进)

Sipjin stands for decimal. This Poomse represents the orderliness of the decimal system. It also means the endless development and growth in a systematic order: stability.
6 DanJitae
(지태 . 地跆)

Jitae is derived from the meaning of the earth. All things evolve from and return to the earth, the earth is the beginning and the end of life.
7 DanChonkwon
(천권 . 天拳)

Cheonkwon means ‘sky’. The sky should be seen as ruler of the universe. It is both mysterious, infinite and profound. The motions of Chonkwon are full of piety and vitality.
8 DanHansu
(한수 . 汉水)

This poomse is derived from the fluidity of water which easily adapts within nature.
9 DanIlyo
(일여 . 一如)
The state of spiritual cultivation in Buddhism is called ‘Ilyo’ which means more or less ‘oneness’. In Ilyo, body and mind, spirit and substance, I and you are unified. The ultimate ideal of Taekwondo can be found in this state. It is a discipline in which we concentrate on every movement leaving all materialistic thoughts, obsessions and external influences behind.